CITW Malawi YES Club Members visit parliament

CITW’s long term goal is to encourage leaders and citizens who want to live in harmony and sustainably with wildlife and all other natural resources in their communities. Many of the children who have been involved in the CITW programme have already started finding their way into some national leadership positions.

From 2nd to 5th of January, two youths from the Malawi CITW YES Programme were involved into the National Youth Parliament deliberations. There were 193 youth from each of constituency of Malawi who met in the National Parliament House in the Capital City, Lilongwe, to deliberate on issues around socio-economic development, environment, democracy, youth participation in decision making and planning.

Our very own Debora Mataka and Andrew Viyano joined the Youth Parliament deliberations.
Debora Mataka was elected the Honorable MP for Nkhatabay South East constituency. Their terms last for 2 years and Debora has been an MP for Nkhatabay South East for two years now. Debora belongs to Bandawe YES Club and is currently a University student studying Medical Nursing.

Andrew Viyano went into the Parliament as Journalist for Zodiak Broadcasting Station (one of the top media houses in Malawi), and he was covering and reporting for the deliberations from the house. Andrew belongs to Ntapwa YES Club and was in his final semester of his University degree program in journalism. Currently he is interning at Zodiak media station.

Congratulations to Debora and Andrew on making a positive difference in their communities, and to their country! We are very proud of you!

Related Posts

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings